Back in the swing of things

So something major happened last weekend: I got married!!

1240594_10201188285043423_180835131_n

 

Getting married is a lot like running a marathon. There’s the hard work of planning, the anxiety beforehand, and then the feeling afterwards of what now? Unlike running where you can sign up for another race, I obviously can’t get married again, nor would I want to change the amazing day I had.

Of course I would schedule my wedding 4 days before my classes start, so a honeymoon wasn’t in the cards for us immediately following the wedding. Technically I’m back at work and school, but my mind is still kind of stuck in wedding mode. So is my eating. It might be that I think I should be on a honeymoon this week, or maybe the fact that I didn’t eat for about 3 days before my wedding (damn nerves!), but my appetite has been en fuego this week. Combined with skipping some workouts this week, I found myself feeling pretty sluggish this weekend. I know this behavior is temporary and I’ll get back into my normal routine, but it was a good reminder of how quickly I can let my healthy habits slip if I’m not mindful. Celebrating with my family and friends was well worth it, but looking forward to my normal eating and workouts in the coming week.

I decided to end my weekend with my usual loop around the Charles River- 6 miles. easy. done. Now off to finish up some reading before class in the morning!

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

