The Name Game

To hold me accountable, I’ll admit I did not wake up early to run yesterday like I said I was going  here. I’ve been having such a hard time getting out of bed lately and doing anything productive in the morning. Lately, the thought of putting an effort into a workout first thing in the morning seems daunting and miserable. Also knowing I have time after work/school is another reason I’ve been hitting the snooze lately. I’ve come to admit to myself that I am an afternoon/evening runner/exerciser, which is fine, but sometimes it’s nice to get it done and out of the way. With a little extra time in the morning due to my laziness, I thought I’d head over to the social security office to change my last name. Yah- it was just as bad as it sounds. IMG_0814

The line actually moved fairly quickly, mostly because a lot of people didn’t have all their paperwork ready. I think I shocked the employee when I had all my documents, I almost thought she was looking for something to tell me my application wasn’t complete – she didn’t seem too thrilled to be there herself. If there are any newlyweds out there changing their name, or want to look into the process, I found a couple good guides, which are both pretty similar.

http://www.wikihow.com/Change-Your-Name-After-Marriage

http://wedding.theknot.com/wedding-planning/planning-a-wedding/articles/name-change-101.aspx

Updating your social security card is the first step, and after you receive that, which I was told is about 10 days, you’re good to go with the rest! I’m actually a little excited to get a new license (not excited to go to the DMV) since my current picture is from my 21st birthday- ha!

Back to the working out I didn’t do in the morning: By the time I got out of work at 5:30, it was still way too hot to run. I’ve definitely run in 90+ temps before, but yesterday was so humid and muggy, just walking around was pretty gross. I stalled for a while and thought about what to do – run on treadmill (meh), spin class (?). I ultimately just did some cross training. I pushed myself pretty hard so got a good workout, but was still a little bummed I didn’t get a run in. I’m telling myself it was smart to save my legs for my 5k tonight, but truthfully I would have liked to get some miles in.

I’ll go into more depth in a later post, but after the Boston Marathon this year, I’ve had a hard time getting back into running. The reason I’m bummed I missed some miles yesterday is because I finally feel back and motivated again. I’ve had some great runs in the past couple weeks and I’m hoping to build on that, BUT, reminding myself it’s just one workout and today is a new day.

Today is filled with class and then an afternoon lab before I head over to my race!

Your turn:

What’s your go-to workout when you can’t run?

 

2 thoughts on “The Name Game

  1. When I’m not feeling motivated to run, I usually hit the pool for some laps. I love being able to get a great workout in without even sweating!

    Tomorrow is a new day!

  2. I love yoga, or any core/ab workouts, I love the burn. Although I cannot do much of it anymore, I really would like to get into swimming, I have this germ-a-phobe problem and public pools frighten me. Also I am almost 4 months pregnant and am in that awkward showing stage and I am not sure about my bikini anymore…
    I am an afternoon/evening runner/work out person too!

Leave a Reply

